Graduate Faculty Governance Council



Graduate Faculty Governance Council Charge

The Graduate Faculty Governance Council, comprised of representatives from the Graduate Faculty, colleges with graduate programs, Western Libraries, and graduate students, supports and advances graduate education at Western Washington University through shared graduate faculty governance. The Council's powers and duties include, but are not limited to:

  • Providing leadership in the areas of Graduate School strategic planning, policy and standards, and resource allocation in collaboration with the Dean of the Graduate School
  • Promoting the interests of the Graduate Faculty and graduate students 
  • Enhancing the visibility of graduate education throughout the University, including the promotion and celebration of academic accomplishments by graduate students
  • Approving and monitoring standards for graduate admission, retention, and graduation
  • Advising on the development and creation of new graduate programs
  • Reviewing graduate curriculum proposals from all academic departments and programs
  • Conducting graduate program reviews to ensure ongoing program effectiveness
  • Participating in the Graduate School NWCCU accreditation process
  • Selecting Western Association of Graduate Schools outstanding thesis nominees
  • Adopting and amending its rules of operation as the “Bylaws of the Graduate Faculty Governance Council”

2023-2024 GFGC Membership

Name Term Subcommittee* Area
Sean Mulcahy 2022-2024 GSSC Area A - CSE
Linda Keeler 2022-2024 GPRC Area B - Social Sciences
Chris Loar 2022-2024 GPRC - Vice Chair Area C - Humanities
Ryan Dudenbostel 2022-2024 GSCC - Chair Area D - Fine and Performing Arts
Tejvir Sekhon 2022-2024 GPRC Area E - Business and Economics
Tammi Laninga 2022-2024 GPRC - Chair Area F - College of the Environment
Tim Bruce 2022-2024 GPRC Area G - Woodring College
Gabe Gossett 2022-2024 GSCC Western Libraries
Kristi Lemm 2023-2025 GSCC - Chair At-Large (Social Sciences)
Christina Byrne 2023-2025 GSSC - Chair At-Large (Social Sciences)
Craig Dunn 2023-2024 GSSC At-Large (Business and Economics)
Anna Diedesch 2023-2025 GPRC At-Large (CHSS)
Margaret Scheuermann (Chair) 2023-2025 GPRC At-Large (CSE)
Diana Gruman 2023-2024 GPRC Ad Hoc Member
Angela Strecker 2023-2024 GPRC Ad Hoc Member



GSCC - Graduate School Curriculum Committee

GPRC - Graduate Program Review Committee

GSSC - Graduate Student Support Committee

GSAC - Graduate Student Advocacy Council

GFGC Documents

You will need to enter your universal username and password when prompted to view some of the following documents.

Constitution and Bylaws

Agendas and Minutes

Curriculum Timeline

History and Transition

Policy on Graduate Faculty

Stacked Course Policy

Course Modality Statement